• Welcome to the TransPulse Forums!

We offer a safe, inclusive community for transgender and gender non-conforming folks, as well as their loved ones, to find support and information.  Join today!

Where are the folks who work in Emergency Response?

As there are no posts here yet, I thought I'd should be the fist one to utilize this sub-forum. 

I'm currently studying justice and policing, and hoping to work either as a K9 or Animal Control Officer. 

Kian, it is a very specific request, so most folks won't respond as it doesn't apply to them. 🙂 I used to work in a command and control centre for the fire service (taking the emergency calls, sending the appliances and managing the area coverage) but that was a decade ago now. Good luck with your studies!

I was a volunteer firefighter and medical first responder for 14 years.

My first department was the best.  It served an island with a population of 1100.  Being on an island, they had to be totally self-sufficient, since mutual aid would take a long time to arrive, and would cost $1000 to call out the ferry in the middle of the night.  They had three tanker trucks, and could maintain a continuous firefighting water flow for hours.

We did a lot of medical calls, and got to do a lot of hands-on medical / first-aid stuff because we would typically be on scene for 10-15 minutes before the ambulance arrived.