• Welcome to the TransPulse Forums!

We offer a safe, inclusive community for transgender and gender non-conforming folks, as well as their loved ones, to find support and information.  Join today!

Confused About Who I Am

SabrinaAthena

Hey everyone, this is gonna be kinda long so sorry about that. Basically I'm just looking for any advice / reassurance / anything really as I've been questioning for about 6 years and really am doing anything I can to actually figure out who I am. I do have a therapist which is helping but not enough rn. Also I'm 20 and AMAB (and also ace).

A quick rundown of the things I think are important:

I remember when I was quite young, whenever I'd imagine things to fall asleep (if that makes sense) in all of the stories I'd imagine that, I was a girl. Which I never really questioned as I was idk, pretty young. Also I have always hated my deadname ever since I can remember but found the shortened version bearable.

I don't remember when I learned about the concept of being trans, but I do have a few trans friends, and talking to them when I was around 15 or 16 (can't quite remember how old I was for anything, could be younger) made me start to question my gender. This questioning has come and gone on and off ever since.

When I was 17 I covered my mirror in paper as I couldn't bear to look at myself, on that, I've always hated both my body and my face (and used to be embarassed about body hair even though I knew all guys get it), always thought I was overweight even though I never have been. I have gone through questioning both NB and transfemme identities.

Never felt comfortable in male dominated spaces, played basketball for 12 years and just always had this feeling of not really fitting in, which I feel like could be caused by dysphoria but maybe its just because I'm not masculine like the guys who played it.