• Welcome to the TransPulse Forums!

We offer a safe, inclusive community for transgender and gender non-conforming folks, as well as their loved ones, to find support and information.  Join today!

Ertha Mae Olmec... she lives!

Hi everyone!  It's so wonderful to have a safe and welcoming community to be a part of, so thank you!  I'm Ertha Mae Olmec (she/her/hers).  It feels really good to be in a place where I can say that loud and proud.  Even though I'm 48 (okay almost 48), I'm just beginning to publicly express myself as the gender that brings my outside more inline with how I perceive my true inner self.  I have spent most of my life not being "myself" because of social expectations and now I have a great deal of fear that I have wasted most of my life living a lie, and by doing so I have only attracted more of which I do not want.  So yes, perhaps I am having a late mid life crisis that is motivating me to stop being what others want me to be and to just be myself.  Now I will admit that I am still trying to figure out bits and pieces of who I am / want to be.  After repressing my own self for so long, it's really hard to be true and honest with myself.  A lot of stereotypical gender expression, expectations and norms confuse and frustrate the heck out of me, so I get rather deep into my own head sometimes with overthinking my own gender expression and motivations.  I do know that if you gave me a choice of which gender I would choose if such a choice existed (and I'm so happy that this is a choice I can make in today's world), I would choose to be female, and while male privileges are AWESOME, I would eagerly swallow that proverbial "pink" pill in a heartbeat and never look back.  Of course there is A LOT more to unpack in this origin story, but that's the general motivation behind my decision to transition.