• Welcome to the TransPulse Forums!

We offer a safe, inclusive community for transgender and gender non-conforming folks, as well as their loved ones, to find support and information.  Join today!

New parent

Shelley

Hello, I am new to all of this.  Our 10 year old daughter recently came out as trans to us and asked that we use he/him and that he would like to be called Milo.  I am not totally surprised, his father and I want to be as supportive as possible and do not want to make him feel pressured either way.  He asked that we also have his teachers refer to him the same.  He wants to do it as a trial to see how it feels.  He does not want to have extended family part of it at this time.  I guess I am here just wanting to speak with parents that have or are going through the same thing.  I don't want pressure him either way.  About a year and a half ago he did tell us that he was a lesbian and liked girls.  About 6 months after that he said he wasn't a lesbian.  He has not worn a dress for years or a girls bathing suit, it is always a t shirt and boys shorts.  Now that he has finally chopped off his hair he seems very happy and this is when he decided to tell us he was trans.  He said that used to be jealous of the boys when he was younger because he wanted to be like them and have short hair and dress like them.  Just looking for some help and guidance through Milo's discovering himself.

• Admin