• Welcome to the TransPulse Forums!

We offer a safe, inclusive community for transgender and gender non-conforming folks, as well as their loved ones, to find support and information.  Join today!

How to start the conversation with a therapist?

dale

Hi, this is my first time posting; I just recently found this forum. So, I have found a therapist in my local area that I am considering calling, her bio indicates she is familiar with gender issues. Here is my issue, I am going over in my head how the conversation might go, I am literally making myself physical ill, as in stomach nausea. I don't know if I can utter the right words in front of another human being, I need to tell her I have have been a crossdresser since childhood (or maybe more, idk, partly why I want to talk to a therapist), and the thoughts and desires of being and living as a woman are getting stronger as the years go by. I don't know how to get out even the first sentence. I guess I am embarrassed at this, I would make a terrible woman, not passable at all, I don't want to put close family through this. idk, I feel like I really need to talk to someone and hopefully find a way to deal with this so I can get on with life. Any help appreciated, thanks.

• Admin