• Welcome to the TransPulse Forums!

We offer a safe, inclusive community for transgender and gender non-conforming folks, as well as their loved ones, to find support and information.  Join today!

Just wondering what other girls around my age hear from friends

Hey all I'm I'm Chloé and I'm 19 and have felt very lucky to have found this forum and have had some very welcoming words and advice already!

I'm just wondering if there are many girls around my age on here as I really want to know what kind of acceptance you've been getting from people around you.  I work as a barista (make coffee at a kiosk) and when I started I was already presenting myself as Chloé but still had my male legal name though I've changed it since, but the people I worked with (girls and a few guys) are almost all around my age and have all been really cool about it.  But they've told me a few of their parents found out and were not so cool.

With my own parents also not accepting the new me, are other girls (and guys) around here generally seeing the same thing?  Or is it just my circle?  I really find just about everyone around my age totally accepts me as Chloé but people in their 40s/50s, men especially just have problems with me if they find out I'm trans and for reasons that make no sense.  Is this just me or is it a generational thing?

not a girl, and a bit younger, but most people are rather accepting. Of course, there are the exceptions, but normally it's because they're younger and raised in a way that they don't understand. Sorry about how things have been going for you, hope it looks up.

• 2 weeks later...

Sorry I made a bad assumption about the gender of people on here, but I do appreciate the advice!