• Welcome to the TransPulse Forums!

We offer a safe, inclusive community for transgender and gender non-conforming folks, as well as their loved ones, to find support and information.  Join today!

Mormon Culture And My Mind Set...

Guest (Lightsider)

Guest (Lightsider)

I am no expert on the subject however I have been a member 31 years. So consider the source.

The culture of the church is one where members find their own testimony and come to a "Knowing" the church is true. It is a spiritual witness. They often baptize children at age 8. Sometimes these kids are pressured into joining...I was baptized at age 10 myself. So I have been a member virtually all my life.

Being trans all my life... has made it all that much harder on me. I held onto the church with this false idea it would cure me. noope. Not a chance. I went through a serious of religious awakenings that my GID was a tool of satan. So i fought it with my entire being. 3 marriage...and a swath of destruction. Ironically it my first two wives never had an idea I was trans. I hid it that well. However...the 3rd knew and felt through faith I could be "Cured".

So we married. But once again as repeated through my marriages before I found I was not physically attracted to her, sleeping on the couch was a treat. We are still friends however...she can not accept that I am spiritually female. She believes that when the next life comes I will be male and that all will be ok. I consider her my best friend and yes we are divorced.

Any way...the Mormon people are a people of great faith and sometimes that is the weak link for Mormon trans like myself who fall into this idea that being trans is some how a sin...or a cross that we must fight to the end.