Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

angels wings

Not long found out

angels wings   
angels wings

Hello im new to this i am married to a wonderful person i lov him dearly we have been married for over 17 yrs and end of last yr he told me . Pl excuse the pronouns as im new to this . I have been through so many feelings . Its hard to understand i want to be happy that he is going to do what he feels is right but im scared and i dont understand the feelings im going through . I want to learn to support him and be his best friend like we always have been i could not imagine my life away from the person i luv the most. I would luv others who are in the same position to please give me advice on how u handled it all i want to learn i need to understand i know fear of the unknown is the worst. Thank you for letting me write lookin forward to a reply .

Guest Ney'ite   
Guest Ney'ite

First and foremost, welcome to the forums, and I am sure the forum is very proud of you to open yourself up here and share your situation. That is a big step.

These are just my thoughts from my own personal experience.

The feelings you are going through are ok - it is not your fault, in fact, it is no one's fault. You are by *far* not alone. In fact, I am the one who transitioned and I was also married for 17+ years. She has gone through so many emotions, and you have to believe that it is ok to feel what you are feeling.

This process has been likened to someone experiencing the death of a spouse. They are still the same person inside, but just that they are aligning their exterior to match their interior. It is not a choice on your other half's part, any more than it is a choice that you are right- or left-handed...it is just something you are.