• Welcome to the TransPulse Forums!

We offer a safe, inclusive community for transgender and gender non-conforming folks, as well as their loved ones, to find support and information.  Join today!

Wig and long hair?

Alyssa Deutsch

I have been shaving my head for the past 21 years, ever since I went off to basic training. Before that, I had real long hair on the top of my head (shaved on sides and back). Now, as I have been coming to terms with my true self and getting away from the image I crafted to hide that self, my hair is growing back out.

But....

It seems to be a bit thinner on top than I remember. Not only that, which isn't very noticeable at all (except in my mind it might as well be an enormous bald spot), I have a very guy hairline. My hairline looks just like that singer guy Sting. So, I figure a wig will be in my future.

The question then is this, is it better to keep my hair real short and just wear a wig all the time? Or do I still get to grow out my own hair and maybe find some kind of extensions or some other hair piece to "fill in" on top and especially around the Sting-ish hairline?

I don't have a clue what is supposed to happen with this. Used to love that manly hairline, because it helped so much with my character I had to play. Not so much anymore.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Alyssa

• Forum Moderator