• Welcome to the TransPulse Forums!

We offer a safe, inclusive community for transgender and gender non-conforming folks, as well as their loved ones, to find support and information.  Join today!

summer anxiety

Guest Faith gibson

Guest Faith gibson

Hi everyone,

It’s been a little while since I’ve posted. The last time I posted, I was told that I just didn’t realize how many friends I had here. I hope that is true. I know that even though I’m not very good at lending a hand to others, I really do wish everyone the best and I thank you for listening to me.

This time of year is very difficult for me. I would like to unburden myself if you will allow me. I am a teacher and I live away from my home. I have done this for the last 20 years or so. (Some of you may know this). I have been living like this of course so I can live as me, which I do, except at work. Well, the end of June means the end of the school year and once again I will be spending 7 weeks at home trying desperately to fit in with how everyone sees me.

It is a very anxious time for me. Seven weeks without me being me. My heart rate increases just thinking about it. This year is a little different though. For the good I’m not sure? I just don’t know because in March, I told my spouse about myself and we’ve had some ups and downs since then. ( She is very excited for me to come home though so I am optimistic). I have been very effective in hiding things because I basically live alone for such a large part of the year.

Plus, I have started hormones. Already things are changing physically with me, and for sure mentally. My spouse also knows this.