Femdad

Accepting the girl

Femdad

Hi I’m new here I’m a dad with a 6 yr old son. Lately my son has been asking if it’s ok to wear girls clothes. I didn’t know how to approach this since I’m new to all this and a single Dad. I’m looking for a little guidance on the subject. I’m not sure how to proceed. 

MaryEllen

Hello Femdad,

Welcome to TransgenderPulse. :)  At 6 years of age it's quite possible that you son may be thinking that he should be a girl. Has he said that he wishes that he were a girl or is he just curious about girls clothing?  It could be just a passing fad or he could really be transgendered. There's no way of telling just yet. I would let him wear girls clothing if that's what he really wants. I would use caution, though. The world at large is not a friendly or accepting place for those who are transgender and he could become the target of some serious hate and bigotry.

I wouldn't deny him wearing girls clothing but I wouldn't encourage it either. Let him set the pace. Above all, let him know that you love him no matter what.

This link might be helpful. http://www.dailymail.co.uk/home/you/article-3184776/Transgender-Jazz-Jennings-knew-girl-born-boy-s-body.html

If your son were a little older, I would suggest counseling with a gender therapist but perhaps it's something you might want to consider even now.

Please keep in touch and let us know how things are progressing and hopefully, we can advise you further.

MaryEllen

Dev

Welcome, Femdad!  MaryEllen beat me to the punch with her words of wisdom, so I'll second her encouragement to stay in touch with us, ask questions, and don't be shy.  Gender variance can be a very foreign topic for some, so it's hard to offend us by asking innocent questions. :) 

Femdad