Sign in to follow this  
maggie mags

my partner has severe dysphoria/bad mental health and I have mental health issues too

maggie mags

Warning: long

Background: My girlfriend (trans woman) and I (cis F) are in an international long distance relationship and I'm staying with her at her place for almost two weeks (exactly one more week until I head home). We met in November 2016 when I was a study abroad student in her country, 3 weeks before I went home. So we only had a few days together in person, but we connected on a really deep level and trusted each other immediately. So we've been essentially online dating since then and this is our first visit since we met. 

I knew that she has very severe dysphoria and mental health issues and that she isolates herself from people when she goes through a dysphoric episode (which can be anywhere from a day, a week, or months), but I didn't consider how that would play out when we saw each other in person. She knows that I have generalized anxiety disorder (and we both have depression) and she did research in order to prepare for how that might play out when we saw each other--she was mentally prepared for the possibility that I might spend the entire time having severe anxiety attacks and not being able to do anything. Yesterday we had a major conversation about stuff and I said that I felt like I was meeting her halfway but she wasn't doing the same. She said that the sheer fact that she hadn't completely left her apartment to go to her trailer where she wouldn't be disturbed means she was meeting me halfway. After talking to her, I also learned that she had made additional sacrifices that I did not previously know about in order to be available to me (missing out on a trip to see her dying uncle, for instance).