• Welcome to the TransPulse Forums!

We offer a safe, inclusive community for transgender and gender non-conforming folks, as well as their loved ones, to find support and information.  Join today!

Kali-Ann Gills

Home mani pedi kit.

Kali-Ann Gills

Hi all, 

Nails can make or break an outfit however, there can be numerous reasons why some cannot use a nail technician or visit a nail salon. 

So the option is do it yourself! So off we go and end up staring at the nail products counter overwhelmed and utterly confused with the array of products available.

I am a professional nail technician and I hope to show you how to put together a home nail care kit. First off forget the new fantastic gizmos you simply don't need them. You can achieve a high quality finish to your nails without spending a fortune. What I cannot stress enough though is purchase the best quality tools that you are able to. This is not a nail course but I am going to share with you all the basics of how to do your own mani and pedi.

Hands and feet take a battering every single day so they really do need to have a bit of TLC. Also build up of hard skin on the feet can actually effect posture and in extreme cases impede mobility in later life. Let's be honest here our feet are encased in thick socks and boots for months during winter. A perfect breeding environment for all sorts of less than friendly bacteria. (I cannot advise on nail infections ingrowing toe nails or any other conditions I am not a doctor) 

So this is the basic home kit. 

LED lamp.

White buffing blocks.

A selection of good quality files. 5 various grits should suffice.

Metal cuticle tool.

Orange and or hoof sticks.

Very sharp nail scissors.

Metal cuticle nipper.

Large and small nail clippers.

Finger bath

A bowl large enough for your feet to sit in comfortably.

Foot rasp file.

Cuticle remover.

Cuticle oil.

Metal nail cleaning tool.

Nail brush.

Cotton buds.

Cotton Wool balls. 

Lint free pads.