• Welcome to the TransPulse Forums!

We offer a safe, inclusive community for transgender and gender non-conforming folks, as well as their loved ones, to find support and information.  Join today!

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Dev

Research Study: Suicide Prevention

Dev

Morning everyone!

Kelly vetted a study being performed by researchers at the University of Mississippi.  It has to do with suicide prevention, so the questions asked may bring up memories of unpleasant times, but helping them get a better understanding of what puts the topic of suicide on the table for our community is very worthwhile.  Below is a description of the study from the principal researcher, who has invited people to reach out with questions.  A link to participate in the survey is also included.

Hi folks -

I am an Associate Professor of Psychology at the University of Southern Mississippi whose research focuses on suicide prevention. Some colleagues and I are looking to collect some preliminary data to help us understand in what ways risk is similar (and different) across a range of diverse populations with elevated suicide rates. Some of these groups overlap with one another quite a bit (e.g. gun owners, law enforcement, active duty military) and some are quite different (e.g. veterinarians, first time new mothers). Our goal is to recruit enough folks to consider groups in isolation or in comparison to one another so that we can understand better how risk shifts in nature from one group to another (and within broader groups that have substantial diversity within them).