• Welcome to the TransPulse Forums!

We offer a safe, inclusive community for transgender and gender non-conforming folks, as well as their loved ones, to find support and information.  Join today!

Dancing!!!!

Kirsten

I have a question. How do you learn to dance like a girl?! I am a very good male dancer. Club dancing not ballroom, but even ballroom I’m not bad. I have a great boxstep but still I’m the lead not the girl. Anyways, like I said I’m a very good dancer, but men and women don’t dance the same. At all. So how do you learn? Not many 40 year old women can’t dance. It seems like it’s a sure giveaway. And if I practice, I don’t have the female swagger. The hips. The twists. The hand motions. Whenever I try I end up back in male club dancing mode. I gotta find that swagger! But idk how. ?

Hi Kirsten. Now I am no expert but I find that I am able to be just free when dancing as Makyala. I really get to feel the music which you don’t tend to do as a male unless very drunk of course. 

I kinda think when it comes to disco it’s anything goes right hehe. 

As for ballroom now I would just find a good leading man haha. 

Maybe we just post videos of our bad dancing. Haha. 

Kirsten - I love dancing, and this is something I hope to face in the future but the tough thing is the fluidity. Girls seem to be more relaxed in their muscles which lets them flow.  Most of the girls I know are not too different to the guys for the most part, just far more hips and arm and shoulder movements, unless you wander into dirty dancing territory - The Just dance game is a great way to dance along with the women just to get more natural movement and also get music that might be playing irl..

Just now, DeeDee said:

Girls seem to be more relaxed in their muscles which lets them flow Most of the girls I know are not too different to the guys for the most part, just far more hips and arm and shoulder movements,