• Welcome to the TransPulse Forums!

We offer a safe, inclusive community for transgender and gender non-conforming folks, as well as their loved ones, to find support and information.  Join today!

MaryMary

Just another dating rant :P

MaryMary

I've created a profile on a dating site yesterday. I've forgotten just how not fun dating is. Even if a chat is going well when the person find out I'm trans they immediately go in a "teach me what transgender means" mode. It's surprising how not many people know it even exist, lol That's the funny realization I have a some point : "passing" means nothing except ot add to the confusion when they find out I'm trans. It's 0 a good thing in the end. The only use of "passing" is to not get harrassed in the streets and the more being trans is accepted the less it means anything at all.

In the end when I date I'm just a teacher that is making people learn, nothing else. I'm flooded be message, match and likes. It's like I have a line in front of me of a 1000 person.

Even if the guy wants a date in the end the conversation about genitals and what it is to be trans is so akward that I'm not sure if he's a perv or just someone who trully wants to learn...

I hate this, I trully hate this.

The next time I forget, just gently remind me of how it sucks.

Susan R

Wow, @MaryMary this post makes me appreciate my wife even more.  I had never really thought much about what it would be like to be single and out there as a Trans person these days. You bring up some very interesting points.  It sounds much more awkward and more difficult to "trust your gut" while sifting thru the many "potential" companions than what a cis person doing the same thing.  It's been many years since I had a date and I'm sure glad I'm done with that phase of life.

Susan R🌷

MaryMary