• Welcome to the TransPulse Forums!

We offer a safe, inclusive community for transgender and gender non-conforming folks, as well as their loved ones, to find support and information.  Join today!

Learning to do Make Up

Guest KayJo

Hi everyone. I'm Kay, this is my first post outside of the intros forum.

I'm still a little new to the CD world and am very much in the closet for multiple reasons.

I love to try make-up but honestly, have to say I do a really sloppy job. It ends up looking like someone's 90 year old grandma did her face and she has a really shaky hand!

I have searched a bit online and read a few "how-to" articles but still find it really difficult, especially eyeliner and eye-shadow. Lips I can manage marginally better.

I expect this is somewhat common for anyone starting out doing make-up without the benefit of an older sister or mom to ask (I'm not about to ask my sisters or mom ad definitely not my Spouse). And its hard to find online instructions aimed at a complete and total beginner, they mostly seem to assume some level of existing proficiency. It would be nice of there was somewhere you could go and get an actual lesson. I suspect thats possible for GGs but not for MtFs in this neck of the woods (we are a bit conservative here in the south)

I'll just have to continue practicing when I can. Despite the poor quality, I do like the result and find it makes me feel more femme while its on.

There is one link here on Laura's to an on-line "how-to" for eye make-up, but if anyone knows of other ones let me know

Kay,

XX

• Forum Moderator

Hi Kay,