• Welcome to the TransPulse Forums!

We offer a safe, inclusive community for transgender and gender non-conforming folks, as well as their loved ones, to find support and information.  Join today!

Makeup: The Big Question: Where Do I Start?!?!

Guest Fatefighter

Guest Fatefighter

This question is aimed at anyone who actually knows what they are doing: How can makeup make me look like me? Tips? Tricks? How to apply eyeliner in a non-owmyeye manner? Choosing the right lipstick/ should I wear any?

Guest van-na

Hi Fatefighter,

<<hug>>

You are you and will always look like you.

Wearing makeup is wonderful for me, I think it helps to make me look better.

I am by no means an expert , but will gladly tell you what I know.

In addition to buying your makeup I would recommend a set of of brushes , they help with many things.

If you have blemishes you will want to get a conciliar to cover them, I don't do this as I have fair skin.

I first cover my entire face with a thin coating of foundation, there are many types , I prefer the liquid type , but their are other types. Just make sure and get one that matches your shin color.

Next I put on my mascara I prefer the water proof kind in black, it doesn't smear or run when it gets wet. It is harder to remove, I use lotion, soap and water. you can also buy makeup remover if you wish.

I only put Mascara on my upper eyelid, if you do your lower one, it will most likely leave a lash imprint in your lower eye lid area because your lower lash will hit the skin when you blink.

Change your Mascara after a few months, bacteria grows well in that little tube , and can cause you an eye infection.

Next I use eyeliner on my lower eyelid, many women do both lids , but I usually just use eyeshadow on my upper.