• Welcome to the TransPulse Forums!

We offer a safe, inclusive community for transgender and gender non-conforming folks, as well as their loved ones, to find support and information.  Join today!

How Did You Do It =]

Guest Kylani

Guest Kylani

Hey everyone!

It was something I brought up in a meeting and was something I really needed to hear from everyone. We all know how much hearing others storys helps us, inspiring and giving hope for recovery.

I'm new to the program, and have 62 days today =]

I saw the substance abuse forum here and I thought maybe I would bring up this topic here!

For me I had been drinking since I was 9 years old. Alcoholically since I was 12 years old. I never understood what alcoholism was and never knew there was such a thing as recovery. Until one day my friend and I had saw our first episode of Intervention on A&E. I thought it was amazing. This girl and her drinking were so firmaillar to me. We used to make jokes about the show between us and our other friends. Deep down I never thought it was funny. I was always sick, I started failing out of school. I tried to control my drinking, switching drinks to less %'s, not drinking till a certian time of the day. I tried so meny times to control my drinking but failed everytime. I used to get myself in very dangerous situations, a couple of times that went absolutely sour.

Then one day my friend had came over at about 7am to walk to class with me. She made the comment 'Girrrrrrrl your room always wreaks of alcohol!' and I can remember jokingly saying to her later that day, 'Yeah.. I can't go a single day without drinking, I can't do ANYTHING without a drink'. She said to me 'Oh my gosh, really?' and foolishly I said no I'm only kidding.