• Welcome to the TransPulse Forums!

We offer a safe, inclusive community for transgender and gender non-conforming folks, as well as their loved ones, to find support and information.  Join today!

Sources Of Motivation

Guest OneOutOfnOne

Guest OneOutOfnOne

Hello, friends and strangers. Mostly strangers, I guess, I'm too quiet to keep up with online forums anymore.

I have a problem, and have had this problem for a few years now. It seems I've let slip away my motivation to do even the things I once loved doing. It's hurting my school performance and my creative output, and I hate it. I just can't seem to use my time in any way productive. I am rather organized, that does not seem to be the trouble! The difficulty is that I don't feel obligated to do what I tell myself to do. I'm not sure how to go about fixing myself.

In a meeting with my psychologist last week, I informed him that my first attempt at a university degree was an utter failure. I graduated second in my class in high school, then my university grades were awful and I dropped out after two years. He suggested that this was a result of my internal issues with my gender identity. This answer seems too easy for me to accept. I was not fully aware of having gender identity issues until I was already out of school: I had not been thinking about it much at the time. It is possible, I will allow, that, having at last moved out of my parents' house and onto my own, I searched for and could not find a sense of self, and thus fell into poor habits. But I sense that it is much more likely that I could go through a complete gender transition and I would still struggle with personal motivation at the end of it; that it's a matter of lacking mental discipline, unrelated to my sense of self. But is mental discipline related to my sense of self, neither of which I seem to have very much of?

Any thoughts or opinions, or accounts of similar troubles, would be appreciated.

Wistful sighs,

Lydia

Guest NatashaJade