• Welcome to the TransPulse Forums!

We offer a safe, inclusive community for transgender and gender non-conforming folks, as well as their loved ones, to find support and information.  Join today!

Don't Know What To Do

Guest chngnwnd

Guest chngnwnd

I have very little as far as masculine mannerisms left, but I must work as male to keep my job. I thought that people would just think I was gay and since where I live, gay people are protected from employment discrimination that I would be safe.

Apparently, I may not be. I am under a lot of pressure from administration (I am a teacher) because parents have called the school to tell them that they don't want me to teach their kids. I found out today that they were calling because they think I am gay. So even though it is against the law, I am afraid that I could lose my job because they think I am gay and some parents are bigots.

I don't know what to do because I am built very fem and act pretty girlie. I know that I can't change all of the sudden and act more manly - I just don't have that in me anymore - also I can't change how I am built (and I am not even on hormones yet). I need this job to pay for transition and support my kids - plus I love to teach.

I don't know what to do to protect myself. It isn't fair and it isn't right. I feel like I am going to vomit. I am totally stressed.

Bobbi

Guest Donna Jean

Bobbi......

Honey, you can't help how you are.....

But, I'm curious...what kind of pressure are you under from admin?

Are they asking you to act differently? Talk, move, be different?

Yeah, there's bigoted parents out there, but, they must get the info from their kids....

Is there any way that you can just tell admin that "you are NOT gay"...which is the truth..

If they are saying and spreading that..it can be used in court...I know that you just want to teach and not have to deal with all of this, but, document everything that is said and bvy whom and at what time and day...