• Welcome to the TransPulse Forums!

We offer a safe, inclusive community for transgender and gender non-conforming folks, as well as their loved ones, to find support and information.  Join today!

Current Military And V.a. Patient

Guest Caroline Anne

Guest Caroline Anne

Hi everybody,

This is Caroline, I'm a new member. I wanted to introduce myself and say hi. I had the great fortune to meet some of the girls from this site in NOLA this month. It was a pleasure meeting y'all. Because of my active Guard situation, I pray that as we get to know one another, my identity, if known, will remain confidential. I have four years left until I can retire. I couldn't wait any longer to transition, I hope that I'm not jumping the gun to much. Anyway, I am a vet (U.S. Army) and as you know, a current member of the National Guard. I also am a patient at the V.A.

I have had great success with the V.A. in my opinion. I have nothing else to go on, but they (my nurse) probably kept me out of jail, if not saved my life by prescribing medication that made me legal. A saying that I've told others close to me is that the hormone might have been medication for my body, they were food for my soul. Nurse Cozic listens to me, is interested in my and knows my name. She is a great resource and does everything she can to help me on my way

I just had my first mental health visit for transgender this past Tuesday. I had been seeing them for PTSD, but the civilian therapist is costing me a fortune and I was hoping that I could get help from the V.A. Once again, they pulled through. My V.A. clinic is referring me to a V.A. Doctor in New Orleans that deals with Transgender. Hopefully, it's more than just being able to spell it or spot it.

I'm excited for the first time in a long time. The medical team is doing what they can for my physical issues, like working on referrals for rhinoplasty and trachal shave and so forth, and the mental health team is working their end. Yea for me.