• Welcome to the TransPulse Forums!

We offer a safe, inclusive community for transgender and gender non-conforming folks, as well as their loved ones, to find support and information.  Join today!

How To Get The Ball Rolling With The Va And Hrt

Guest dizzyizzy

hi, I am a 23 year old male veteran and im already in the va health care system in Long Beach, CA for my service related disabilities but there is no map or checklist i can find online that tells me what to do next.

i want to start the transition and its my understanding that i need therapy before i can start HRT. i don't have the money to paid for therapy sessions, is there a way to get the VA to paid for it and the hormone treatment? i know there wont pay for SRS.

umm, i little history of myself im a 5 year vet of the marine corps, ii never left California besides Pensacola, FL for mos school. i was a FA18 aviation electrician technician down at MCAS Miramar. i have 20% disability with 2 claims pending. Most of family and a handful of friends knows what i want and who i am. i started growing my hair but from a buzz cut its going to take some time i imagine lol. i love heels, i feel like a giant in them but i love them i know im only 5'8 and thats not crazy tall but maybe once i have real breast and hair the height wont bug me. i just made a facebook for my real self http://www.facebook.com/#!/profile.php?id=100001947137164 i think that will get u there just look for Isabella Rosalyn Diaz in Long Beach. i dont know if there is a rule or not when it comes to names but my birth name does not transition well like Micheal to Michelle or nick to Nicole does. so i became picky about it and didn't want a name that was just a guy with an A at the end (ie paula, daniela, victoria)then i considered neutral names like Casey or Jaime but in the end i chose Izzie.

thanks for your time, i don't think this has been posted before. hope to hear back from anyone soon and ill answer any questions about myself