• Welcome to the TransPulse Forums!

We offer a safe, inclusive community for transgender and gender non-conforming folks, as well as their loved ones, to find support and information.  Join today!

Body Language And Clothing

Guest HmmMaybe

Guest HmmMaybe

So, I'm completely new to this whole thing... and young, only turning 15 in several months. So I've got a lot of time to get used to things, basically - and a lot of time to change my mind if that happens. But I was wondering how to pass with things such as body language - posture, hands, etc. The clothes is easy enough, and I'm only a B so wearing loose clothes and a tight bra or binding is really no problem. But my face is a little feminine, which could be a problem, but wearing the right clothes, hair [which is medium boy's length], etc is quite likely to make me pass as I'm not excessively feminine. It is just the posture, the way to hold your legs, how to sit, wear to put your hands and so on that bothers me.

A typical feminine way to sit is with knees together. Or one leg over the other. How do I go about avoiding things like this?

Many thanks.

Guest CharlieRose

The way one of my male friends put it was: Guys love their crotches. They keep their legs open as much as possible, usually. When I tried packing for the first time, I figured out why. It's kind of uncomfortable to close yourself off with something there, you gotta give it some room! :P Some older or effeminate guys cross their legs, but sitting with your legs far apart is a good tool to help pass. For every other sort of action, ie. walking, talking, I imagine that I have weights tied to my wrists and ankles; guys don't move their hands around as much or as often, and the general position is their hands dangling limply at their sides.