• Welcome to the TransPulse Forums!

We offer a safe, inclusive community for transgender and gender non-conforming folks, as well as their loved ones, to find support and information.  Join today!

Would you share experiences with me?

Guest CariadsCarrot

Guest CariadsCarrot

I'm a writer and I recently started to take my effort to make a career out of writing more seriously so I started trying to write or at least research or work on topics to write about every day. I also started looking for more opportunities to submit my writing for publication. The other day I found an advert in a writing magazine for LGBT themed stories and it made me think...I write on a lot of 'human interest' type subjects and often include my own experiences in my stories like having characters with disabilities and stuff, but I have never written a trans character. It made me wonder why I've never expressed that side of me in my writing. I think maybe it's too close to home...maybe I'm afraid of how people would react to my story and therefore to me...maybe I'm afraid to be that vulnerable.

Anyway, it's something I want to change. I want to try writing a trans character in a story for the LGBT advert that I saw. I want to make the character and the story more complete and well rounded than just my own experience though (I'm very aware that I am still in the baby steps of transition) and also want to try to use humour as well as the raw and emotional side of being trans so I want to ask for your help please.

Do you have any funny experiences...or maybe any more serious ones that you think would be good to tell, that you wouldn't mind me writing into my character?