• Welcome to the TransPulse Forums!

We offer a safe, inclusive community for transgender and gender non-conforming folks, as well as their loved ones, to find support and information.  Join today!

My Sister

Guest Crossroads

Guest Crossroads

So, I just checked my e-mail, and I saw that my sister has friended me on Facebook. I've been telling her to do this for a couple years now. However, now I have my "Coming out" note on Facebook for all to see.

Here's a little background. My sister and I never got along growing up. We fought non-stop and only started talking again when our parents separated for a divorce two years ago. I speak to her every week or two, but I'm wary to tell her anything. This is because she has always in the past told my Dad (who she's pretty close to) everything. She was the one who finally told my stupid, blind father that the girl I was so close to, sharing intimate gazes with, was actually my girlfriend and not just a best friend. For any of you that don't know, I'm on less than good terms with my parents, too. They are on thin ice with me, wavering on a floating iceberg that could tip at the slightest wrong move. I hate them, but deal with them because I live in the same city as them. So anyway, the plan is to not tell anyone in my family until April/May, once I start Testosterone.

But now, if I friend her, she'll know. And even if I insist she not tell, she might "leak" it to my dad or purposefully tell him (I don't really know what's going through her head). But I feel bad not friending her, I mean, she's my sister and we are sorta close now. Anyway, for right now I'm ignoring the request and waiting to respond until later on.

I have a few options:

1. I could call her and come out to her and to hell with the consequences, but beg her not to tell our parents.