• Welcome to the TransPulse Forums!

We offer a safe, inclusive community for transgender and gender non-conforming folks, as well as their loved ones, to find support and information.  Join today!

Wig Help

Guest Nikki R

Guest Nikki R

I am looking for some tips about wigs , care and maintenance ( getting knots out , keeping it fresh looking ) and how to keep it securely in place.

Thanks and Hugs

Nikki R

• Forum Moderator

Hi dear. I may not be the person to ask. I use a relatively short wig of non human origin. Spooky? Its easy to maintain. I use a very open brush to keep it untangled and human shampoo and conditioner to clean it. Tis is as in normal hair more necessary in the summer. I don't use a form to dry just wear it or hang it up. I'm bald as a coot so its my life but have found this to be all i need to do. I've been wearing the same one for 4 months now full time and wish i had bought a backup. I'll miss it when it gets too thin but then there will be a new search.

Good luck,

Get some female help choosing your wig.

Enjoy.

Hugs,

Charlie

Guest Nikki R

I have a wig now a little pass my shoulders in length , my wife helped me pick it out its not a real high dollar wig but a nice starter one , the biggest problem is tangles

• Forum Moderator

Tangles are best worked out from the bottom up. My wife has hair to her waist. I brush and braid it every day. Start at the bottom gently and work your way up. Its the best way to tease out tangles without breaking the hair. Try a tangle remover which is just slippery stuff. It can help. You will find however that if you let your hair go it will be a mess. That is why it is often braided and tied back or styled in a controlled fashion of some type.

So glad you have your wife's support!

Hugs,

Charlie

• Admin