• Welcome to the TransPulse Forums!

We offer a safe, inclusive community for transgender and gender non-conforming folks, as well as their loved ones, to find support and information.  Join today!

One Week

Guest Jennifer T

Guest Jennifer T

And nothing to drink.

Am battling a bad case of colitis. Going through tests... Yuck.

But since last Thursday, I've not touched a drop. Hadn't eaten much either. Today, my appetite returned and I thought seriously about having a drink. But didn't.

This tells me that I drink because I want to, not because I have to.

Hi Jennifer,

Self control is a very good thing. Congrats. Alcohol is potentially dangerous, trust me I know. I am usually in control as well, and I work as a bicycle wine tour guide in California wine country (Napa, and Sonoma). Despite my usual moderation, the closest I have ever come to suicide involved guzzling almost an entire liter of tequila. Not smart on my part. So yeah, I applaud your control, and hope you can keep it in check (I need to watch it as well). We seem to share some interests by the way. I wish you well, and that you have continued strength and self control. I still drink (moderately), though I certainly recognise the inherent dangers of it. Good luck.

Hugs,

Stephanie

• Forum Moderator

One week can be an accomplishment. What has amazed me now is that after many years of drinking to oblivion every day is that i rarely think about a drink. For me i've been blessed and the thought has gone today. I also know that with one drink i'll be back in the pit again.

Congratulations! I only wish i could have a social drink but i gave away my ticket to that life.

Hugs,

Charlize

Your post makes it appear you had questions whether there were issues involving alcohol use. A pinned topic in the alcohol forum is a test, or self assessment, for alcoholism. It may be worth a glance. It's been viewed over 700 times.

Hope you feel better soon!

Michelle

Guest Jan Jane