• Welcome to the TransPulse Forums!

We offer a safe, inclusive community for transgender and gender non-conforming folks, as well as their loved ones, to find support and information.  Join today!

Ruminations for a Bar Stool

Sat in a bar last night and talked with the bartender for a couple hours. Our discussions veered toward military service as we discussed traveling. I am a AF vet and he is an AF brat. Found we've been to some of the same places and we've a bit of commonality regarding interests. Our discussions was light and lively. But as the memories of those days flooded back, I was stricken with how totally different the person I was in those days is from the person I am today. There is much I miss about those days. But I have to wonder what it would like to serve today amid all the changes that are taking place regarding TG issues. Who would I be today if I were young and serving? Who would Jennifer be?

I suppose I digress. I did enjoy my military service and I have no regrets concerning it. Jennifer was so completely sequestered by T that there was no place for her then. Sometimes I wish I'd have been able to keep that cloak pulled taught; that I could have maintained the status quo. But I suppose that was never possible either. I just think things were simpler then.

For those of you who serve today and live with the portentous perplexity of this condition at the forefront of your vision, you have my regard and my respect. I hope the future becomes brighter.

• Forum Moderator

Although I had little thought for it at the time I do wonder with what I know now how far I could have gone to being as I am now when I was in the RAF. Then I was at time feminine with some things but it was new and exciting out in the world (as I had just left school) so had other things on my mind.