• Welcome to the TransPulse Forums!

We offer a safe, inclusive community for transgender and gender non-conforming folks, as well as their loved ones, to find support and information.  Join today!

Difference between cross-dresser and trans

lizzy16

So I've been cross-dressing on and off I believe since I hit puberty. I can remember my pubes coming in and feeling somewhat depressed as if something wasn't right about that. I would dress up in my mom's clothes and sometimes paint my nails. That went on for a few years, not consecutive nights, but mainly just when I got the chance. I stopped when I was in college up until I got my own place for the last few semesters, and literally before I had anything moved in, I had women's clothes in the apartment. I stopped maybe a year or so after I graduated and didn't start back up again (possibly due to a nasty drug habit that occupied all of my thoughts and time) until a couple months ago when I hit a low spot in my sobriety. (...or did one befall the other?) Now I'm confused as to whether I'm simply a guy who likes to wear women's clothes and wishes he had a woman's body or if I'm truly a woman deep inside. I've always thought life would be easier/better as a woman and have always been interested in transitioning, but never really took too close of a look at it. I'm trying to do that now, but I'm still not sure what exactly I am. I know there's no rush, but it seems to be affecting my life more and more. I've actually gone to stores, not only to browse and buy women's clothes, but I even tried some jeans on the other day.
I guess my question is, what's the difference between being just a cross-dresser and being trans? Is there anything definitive to this or is it just acceptance and experience?