• Welcome to the TransPulse Forums!

We offer a safe, inclusive community for transgender and gender non-conforming folks, as well as their loved ones, to find support and information.  Join today!

New & finally out

TwistyAlice

Hi everyone, I'm Alice and I'm new to basically any forum so it'll be interesting to actually try this.

I recently came out to my family about who I am and told them that I need to be myself instead of hiding everything. I told them about feeling like my soul was trapped in a masculine prison of anger and sorrow. I thought that I've been hiding everything pretty well but as it turns out, they've known something was up for years and have supported me this entire time. The only thing they were really even waiting on was me to finally accept myself.

Thankfully I have plenty of support from them. However, I'd like to have friends who have gone through similar experiences, which is the reason I joined. I've been reading a lot over the past few days and as much as I've read, I just want to keep reading and hopefully make more friends! :)

• Forum Moderator

Hi Alice

Welcome :)

You will find lots of friendly people here more than willing to share their experiences. Please don't hesitate to join in, post and ask questions.

It is good that you have an accepting family. It always helps to have good support from people you know, as then you can relax and plan without worrying so much about what they will think or will they find out.

Tracy x

• Forum Moderator

Welcome to Laura's Alice. It is amazing how the coming out process is something we dread but which once done opens a new world in front of us.

Have you had the opportunity to see a gender therapist? I and many here find that very helpful. For me i found a final level of acceptance that has helped a great deal while others discover a different path.

Glad you've found us. Your not alone.

Hugs,

Charlize

• Forum Moderator

Welcome to Laura's playground forums Alice :)