• Welcome to the TransPulse Forums!

We offer a safe, inclusive community for transgender and gender non-conforming folks, as well as their loved ones, to find support and information.  Join today!

Hi, I'm Zelaire

Zelaire

Hello--
I've checked into several of the resources on the main site, and I've spent some time reading conversations here in the forums. I wasn't quite sure how to start getting a bit more involved, but a post in the introductions thread seemed like a good place to begin.
I'm in the early days of figuring myself out, but like a lot of you here, I have had questions, feelings, moments, and frankly shame most of my life. I'm 46 now with a wife I love deeply and two boys--12 and 16--who mean the world to me. I should mention my wife is Japanese; we met when I was teaching English in Japan in my early 20s. My day job is in user experience design for an education technology company, and my "real" (but really unprofitable) career is as a cartoonist and writer. Nice to meet everyone. :)
A couple months ago I finally acknowledged to myself that I am clearly not a cis-hetero guy. That I often feel I'd fit in the world better as a woman. I've learned the term of choice for this moment is that this is when I "cracked," which is a metaphor I totally dig. :) It felt like that. I've started seeing a therapist who suggested it could help to find an online community to connect with, since I've not told anyone but her, and it can feel isolating to hold this by myself. From the posts here, you all seem very friendly and supportive, so I hope you don't mind me jumping in the pool.