• Welcome to the TransPulse Forums!

We offer a safe, inclusive community for transgender and gender non-conforming folks, as well as their loved ones, to find support and information.  Join today!

How do I find self acceptance.

Brianna R

I’ve been approved for breast augmentation surgery so I’ve started wearing prosthetic breasts to make sure I’m ready to come out of hiding.  Once I have the surgery I won’t be able to hide my breasts under loose shirts anymore.  I’ve been transitioning for two years now and am out at work for the past several months. People have been mostly supportive of my changes. Problem is I’m extremely self conscious of my appearance. I’m so excited that I’ll have breasts but still feel ashamed when I wear prosthetic ones. I’m 6’ 1” broad shoulders and a baritone voice. I don’t think I’ll ever pass as a woman. I guess I’m wondering if I’ll ever feel comfortable in my body. I was never comfortable as a man. Now I’m neither a man or a woman.  I’m afraid that’s what I’ll always be. How can I come to accept that I’m an transgender woman that will never pass and be at peace with myself. 

• Admin

Forget the Man/Woman thing and concentrate on being YOU, which is my take on life.  You tend to feel better with female dress and mannerisms is what I hear.  Live that way and while it will be a few months or years, it is your character, courtesy, compassion and service to others that will become YOU no matter what you look like or how you sound.  There are very few "ideal" men or women to use as models, but we focus on those very few and forget the REST OF THE REAL PEOPLE who surprisingly look very much like us and are, like we are, fun to know and have as friends.  I have been out for nearly 15 years and it is just me I see in the mirror, but finally it is me!!