• Welcome to the TransPulse Forums!

We offer a safe, inclusive community for transgender and gender non-conforming folks, as well as their loved ones, to find support and information.  Join today!

Richard Rohr?

Rianon

Hello!

I didn't quite know where to place this. I'm curious if there might be others who'd be interested in a conversation about the spirituality expoused by Richard Rohr. I'm no expert. I'm only learning.

Cheers!

Rianon

• Admin

Fr. Rohr is actually a Catholic Priest but I have found that his spiritual outlook is greater than any one path way

I had never heard of him.    Looks kinda interesting.  I do have a kinda pantheistic view of god myself.

He's...interesting to say the least.  I've read some of his work, and he has some very good points, but in all fairness I'm not a fan of his "alternative orthodoxy." I understand it, but don't agree with some aspects of it. One of the most significant disagreements I have with his theology is his teaching that one doesn't have to follow Jesus for salvation. As a Calvinist pastor, I find that to be in direct contradiction to Scripture specifically John 14:6 where Jesus says, "I am the Way, the Truth and the Life. No one comes to the Father except through me." I say this because if Jesus is not the sole means of salvation, His work on the cross and subsequent resurrection are meaningless, salvation is universal and the entirety of Christian Faith is a lie. I apologize if anyone finds this offensive. However, to be frank, Christianity has never taught that universal salvation is valid; in fact, I've heard it cogently argued that the concept itself is borderline heresy and blasphemy. I know this is not something most people want to hear, and again I apologize for any offense given.