• Welcome to the TransPulse Forums!

We offer a safe, inclusive community for transgender and gender non-conforming folks, as well as their loved ones, to find support and information.  Join today!

Interactions with other people

Roach

Just want some anecdotes. How have you noticed interactions with other people (strangers, clients, coworkers, classmates, etc.) changing since you started presenting differently?

• Forum Moderator

When i first transitioned life seemed awkward with most if not all who i had known well.  Over time i was comfortable in myself and they were with me.  It takes some time.

Hugs,

Charlize

I'm still new to transitioning since I started in May of this year. No one other than my kids and some family members have accepted me. Maybe it'll take more time or maybe they just won't. I would like to be accepted but I have been a black sheep my life. I miss talking to other people other than my boys and small talk at church. My church is filled with elders because not many Lutheran's in the south that are my age. We did get three young members and they are too young. They are 18 and I'm 39 which makes me feel really old because I could have a kid older than that. The church does know I'm trans so that is a plus. The pastor is wanting to learn more about the trans community so I told him that I would talk about it without issue because it makes another informed person out there.

2 hours ago, Ashley0616 said:

The church does know I'm trans so that is a plus. The pastor is wanting to learn more about the trans community so I told him that I would talk about it without issue because it makes another informed person out there.

This is good, I suppose.  I was raised in the Lutheran church, and my understanding is that as a denomination they are somewhat open to us.   My relations with the church are, let's just say, complicated.

I've been afraid to, but I've tried to talk to people more aside from the ones I do regularly.