• Welcome to the TransPulse Forums!

We offer a safe, inclusive community for transgender and gender non-conforming folks, as well as their loved ones, to find support and information.  Join today!

Hopeful greetings from Minnesota.

Morgue_Energy

Hello, and good day to you all who read this post.

This is my first time stepping into a transgender space, so I'm unsure exactly of how to start. I identify as a trans male, and for years I did nothing about this knowledge. I knew who I was, but out of fear from backlash from my friends, family, and general populace I never dressed or presented myself as I wanted to. I came out around two years ago, and my mother denied my identity. She knows I've always had body issues, partly from being overweight, and partly due to past trauma, which were both issues my mother also suffered from. She assured me that my dysphoria was because of these causes, and refused to address me by my wanted pronouns. For a year my parents refused to accept me, until my older sister warned them with the damage denial from family can cause in trans youth, (which I am). My father apologized, and quickly started supporting me, though he is still hesitant towards me starting HRT due to my age. My mother meanwhile pretends to accept me, but she still uses she/her pronouns in reference to me quite frequently despite my reminders. I know she is set in the mindset that my being trans is a phase that she hopes I will grow out of quickly. It hurts even more so as my mother accepts other trans people, but because I like playing with dolls as a child she is set that I am just confused.