• Welcome to the TransPulse Forums!

We offer a safe, inclusive community for transgender and gender non-conforming folks, as well as their loved ones, to find support and information.  Join today!

ProbablyNik

Partial coming out?

ProbablyNik

Hey guys. When it comes to coming out, have any of you done it incrementally? I have been identifying as non-binary/transmasc for about 8 years now. But I've been getting more and more anxious and angry when people use my birth name, so I'm trying out names now. I think I found my name, but I've only been trying it for a week. Did you guys just know? I don't want to go back and forth on it. 

Now I'm unsure if I'm non-binary/transmasc or if I sort of landed on that as a middle ground for being straight FtM. I get very upset when people refer to me as female, present very much male, am choosing a male name, thinking of trying male pronouns, etc. So I'm working through this with my gender therapist, who I've just started seeing recently.

I'm not sure if asking one thing now and potentially more later is better, or asking for everything st once later. I'm sort of wondering how you all would approach this? --Rowan

Emily michelle

I’ve just recently started hrt and I’m only out to my wife and sister. So yes I’m doing it incrementally and on my own Time. Which I need to be coming out to more people but the ones I need to come out to I don’t think they will be accepting. On the name I always liked the name Emily so I just used it. You don’t have to know what name you want right off the bat.When you find a name that speaks to you use it and don’t look back.

BrandiBri

I would suggest that you take your time, after all this is not a sprint but a marathon. I am glad that you are seeing a gender therapist, that was the best decision that I made.