• Welcome to the TransPulse Forums!

We offer a safe, inclusive community for transgender and gender non-conforming folks, as well as their loved ones, to find support and information.  Join today!

Gender Phoenix

I'm refusing to eat and I am not sure why

Gender Phoenix

I can't bring myself to eat, to cook, to do much of any thing.

I have plenty of food, and I've been drinking soda but I just can't get myself to eat much and when I try my stomach feels upset but I think that might be psychological.

My depression and anxiety have been heightened lately while I'm also worried about my friends.  But I haven't ever gone so long, eating so little.  I have a fast metabolism and I'm getting progressively sicker.  How do I get the willpower to eat?

This is new to me.  I've never done this before, I've never stopped eating like this.

VickySGV

If it is really bothering you and you are getting sick to your stomach, call your regular doctor.   Also get in touch with your therapist, because it is following a pattern that happens when I am in my depressive episodes. 

While you are waiting for an appointment, probably via video or phone visit, divide your daily food into five portions that are smaller than your usual 3 meals, and eat the food at 5 times instead of 3.  Spacing meals out like that gives you the same nutrition, but you will feel satisfied and not stuffed.  I am diabetic and that is the best way to balance my blood sugar during the day too.

Your concern for your friends is understandable but if you have not had proper nutrition, you will not be able to do things for them that you want to do, and they need you to do.

Gender Phoenix

I'll try smaller spaced out portions.

Thank you for responding.

I had fainted twice from not getting enough calories for my high metabolism.

Its had been 2 or 3 days of that when I posted the opening. I've eaten small amounts since, not enough..

I'll try to do better.