• Welcome to the TransPulse Forums!

We offer a safe, inclusive community for transgender and gender non-conforming folks, as well as their loved ones, to find support and information.  Join today!

Going back to real life

Guest N. Jane

I have been hanging around these forums for about 10 years and recently it has become increasingly obvious to me that it is time I let go of the distant past.

As you may know, I ‘transitioned’ in 1974 at the age of 24 but I put transitioned in quotations because I never really passed for a boy before that. From earliest childhood I always thought I WAS a girl, from 8 onward I just thought I was a freak. I was assessed by pioneers like Dr. Harry Benjamin and aided by the likes of Dr. Stanley Biber. Often I was the first Transsexual many medical professionals had ever seen. At 24, with surgery, I KNEW I was just a girl like any other and lived my life accordingly.

Many years went by and I didn’t think about my medical past very often - it was irrelevant to my daily life. It was not until 2000 or 2001 that I began to wonder what life was like today for people like me in the new millennium and ventured out through the safety of the Internet to find out.

Things had changed a GREAT DEAL! And that is a good thing. “People like me” were on Oprah Winfrey, Barbara Walters and other respectable and mature shows. People like me were finding support, acceptance, and help as young as age 7! WONDERFUL! Much else had changed as well. Transsexualism was under the GLBT banner, medical help was no longer limited to the passable Type VI transsexual, and it had largely become about money: anyone with enough money to pay had access to surgery and “gatekeepers” made money by long term counseling (rather than a single assessment of mental competence). The desirability of the latter changes are for others to decide.