• Welcome to the TransPulse Forums!

We offer a safe, inclusive community for transgender and gender non-conforming folks, as well as their loved ones, to find support and information.  Join today!

Questions from my fire brigade colleagues?

Guest Jenny_W

Guest Jenny_W

I worked out that I am trans about 9 months ago after 30 years of crossdressing. I started HRT over 3 months ago and I've told heaps of family / friends / colleagues that I'm trans (130+). I am a volunteer firefighter and in 2 weeks I have a session with my brigade to formally tell the members - most of them already know because I've told them one-on-one over the last few months.

Part of the session will involve discussion and questions around practical issues (bathrooms, where do I sleep when we go away on strike teams and anything else they want to ask). I am not sure what sort of questions they might ask - what sort of questions pop into people's minds when they find out someone is trans? I'm 'too close' to know those basic questions.

Can you help?

Can you tell me questions someone may ask if they have never met a transgender person before or had any reason to think about transgender issues?

What do people immediately ask themselves? And hence, will probably ask me.

I would like to 'prepare' some answers in my mind incase I get hit with a barage of 'basic' questions.

Thanks,

Jenny

• Forum Moderator

Here are a few quick thoughts.

Try to remember what your friends have asked when you told them. The same things seem to always crop up. I try to diffuse most of the questions with an honest statement amongst others of the way i have always felt inside, of the effects of HRT, my plans for surgery or not etc. It depends i guess as well as to how close you are to the others. Sometings i don't discuss if i feel that the group shouldn't know. I would set out your desires for bathroom and sleeping arrangements.