• Welcome to the TransPulse Forums!

We offer a safe, inclusive community for transgender and gender non-conforming folks, as well as their loved ones, to find support and information.  Join today!

The Proper Treatment of Transgendered People in the Workplace

Guest KellyKat

Guest KellyKat

Starting as of September of 2013 I was able to have full use of the ladies rooms at work AND was finally addressed by the female pronouns for the first time. :D This was after over a full year of RLE at work. I am still pre-op. But I have been presenting as fully female for almost three years now. Since I had decided to transition on the job, they knew me in my former male self before HRT. So I can understand their difficulties in knowing how to proceed with my transition. My main problem was that even though HR backed me up for being able to be free to be myself - they would not acknowledge me in any way as female. To their thinking I was male up and only to the time I would have my SRS and have my birth certificate changed. So in the meantime they did not have to call me by female pronouns and could not enforce anyone else to do so either. This caused me so much mental turmoil for a year of unintentionally insults that I had to bite my tongue on. The following is the letter I drafted for the corporate office when I got tired of being sidestepped at my location. I blanked out the personal information but here is the rest in its entirety. :)

To whom it may concern: