• Welcome to the TransPulse Forums!

We offer a safe, inclusive community for transgender and gender non-conforming folks, as well as their loved ones, to find support and information.  Join today!

Transition On The Job/when To Come Out?

Guest Linus Thomas

Guest Linus Thomas

I hope I have this in the right forum.

Basically, I need some advice/feedback from others about how to do this. Let me explain.

I'm a technical trainer for a large well-known software development company (no, not Microsoft but we're big enough to scare them). Anyways, I've been with the company since Fall 2005. I didn't start or contemplate transitioning until late 2007. I had switched from a role that was only on the phone with clients (global support) to that of technical trainer (mostly in front of clients). Clients haven't been thus far an issue because I usually only see them for 3-5 days at a time (when teaching in person). I usually teach by myself but sometimes co-teach with colleagues (usually for online classes -- no video, just audio and PowerPoint presentations).

That said, I pass, at this point, about 65-80% of the time. I've yet to be thrown out of my birth gender's washroom (fear is still holding me back some because of the passing issue and because I don't have a STP yet but I'm seriously contemplating getting one). I have a "fuzzy" moustache, semi-goatee and decent neck growth. My voice cracks at times and if I'm careful (talking slow) it sounds deep. I have yet to do name change because of fears of how my benefits program might interpret it as (I'm trying to see how much of my surgeries I can get covered under benefits without it being identified as "SRS" -- my benefits won't cover it and requests to get that changed by the company have been refused thus far). I won't be able to get gender on my BC or passport changed because of requirements by my home province.