• Welcome to the TransPulse Forums!

We offer a safe, inclusive community for transgender and gender non-conforming folks, as well as their loved ones, to find support and information.  Join today!

Before or After?

Guest Rachel2071

Guest Rachel2071

I have devised a plan to get me to living full time in 4 months. I know what I need to get done for what I call my prep phase. In a way I am lucky. I have been a truck driver on and off for about 14 years, so finding employment has never been a problem. If I need a new job, I just call a trucking company and tell them that I would like to work for them and then they hire me. I know in this economy that is a rare thing. What I an unsure of is do I get my name change before or after I start at a new company? I cannot transition at my current job, nor would I want to. I have a long driving history but if I apply for a job with a new name I will have to explain why the rest of my driving history is under a different name.

I am thinking it would be easier if I were to get the job before I change my name and then while I am on hometime a month later start the name change process. Any thoughts? Also, does anyone know which trucking comapanies are trans friendly?

• Forum Moderator

You are not our only trucker girl. Hopefully Liz will see your post and might PM you with some good names but she may be stealth now as well. I would be honest about who you are as you apply for a new job. It has been amazing to me how well accepted i am especially if someone stands to gain something by being nice to me. That is true from diners to cosmetic counters and employers only hire us so they can earn more.

That being said you know your industry. I think your present plan is a good one. If there are many jobs available (i see the adds for workers on the back of many trucks) i would think that you would be safe.