• Welcome to the TransPulse Forums!

We offer a safe, inclusive community for transgender and gender non-conforming folks, as well as their loved ones, to find support and information.  Join today!

Connecting With Other Transguys

Guest StrandedOutThere

Guest StrandedOutThere

I think I've brought this up before, but I'm going to bring it up again.

Lately I have felt really isolated from the trans community in my town. I really would like to have more trans friends, but it has been difficult to integrate myself because a lot of guys were friends before and I'm a newbie. Also, we have 2 distinct groups of guys: college people who are activisty and older guys who are stealth (who are also local). I don't really fit in well with either group right now. The college peeps mostly grew up in the lesbian community and are often involved with activism. The stealth guys are...stealth. I mean, I know who they are, but they are stealth and have their own lives. Also, because I'm early transition, I'd like to talk to more early transition guys.

So, I've hung out with local transguys a couple of times, but it seems like I am not necessarily welcome in their friend group. I'm older, but not by that much. Mostly I feel like I get judged for several things about me that are a little different.

Here's are things I feel like I get judged for: